What is regatta cheese?

I'm thinking you mean ricotta cheese? Ricotta is an Italian cheese made from sheep, cow, goat, or Italian water buffalo milk. The whey left over from the production of other cheeses is used to make ricotta by coagulating the proteins that remain after the casein has been used to make other cheese.