What's the difference between cherry and black cherry?

All black cherries are a type of regular cherry, but not all cherries are black cherries. Cherries come in different breeds, colors, and flavors. Black cherries are only one type of very dark almost purple cherry that has a slightly different and sweeter flavor than regular cherries.