What is h. l. a. b. twenty seven?

HLA-B27 is a specific protein (termed a human leukocyte antigen or HLA) that is found on cell surfaces. The term HLA-B27 is also used to refer to the gene that codes for the HLA-B27 protein. The test determines the presence/ absence of HLA-B27 protein on the surface of a person's white blood cells.