What is a butterfly's wings made out of?

Butterfly wings are made up of thousands upon thousands of layers of colorful scales and hairs.

---

Butterfly wings are made of very thin layers of a hardened protein called chitin. On top of these chitin layers are thousands of tiny scales. Besides being responsible for the magnificent colors characteristic of butterflies, scales also aid in the flow of air along their wings as they fly.