Are lizards related to dinosaurs?

Lizards are not related to dinosaurs. Dinosaurs are their own category of animal, most closely related to birds and crocodiles.

---

Despite the fact that the word Dinosaur translates to "Terrible Lizard", Dinosaurs were in fact reptiles.