What is the average height of an n. b. a. player?

The average American male is 5 ft 9.3 in (1.76 m). Yet, the average player in the National Basketball Association (NBA) is listed at 6 ft 7 in (2.01 m). Despite this, some shorter players have played, and even excelled, in the NBA (and many players 6'7” or taller have not excelled at all).