How long does it take an oyster to make a pearl?

Freshwater pearls can take 1-6 years to form. Whereas saltwater pearls can take anywhere from 5-20 years to make. The longer the pearl stays in the shell, the larger the pearl becomes.

---

According to a FUN TRIVIA Subscriber, "Freshwater pearls can take between 1 and 6 years to form; whereas saltwater may take between 5 and 20 years. The longer a pearl stays in the shell, the more nacre that forms and the larger the pearl."