Can you substitute buttermilk for milk in a recipe?

No---don't do that. Buttermilk is fermented--which means if you use it in some recipes, they will be full of bubbles or rise when they shouldn't. It also has a very sharp, acidy taste. Using it in place of milk can make your recipes taste different, or just bad.