Is half and half a good substitute for milk?

Naturally, it's when a recipe calls for whole milk that it's the one variety you don't have on hand. As long as you have a glass measuring cup, you can substitute rich and creamy half-and-half for whole milk. ... These will come very close to replicating the taste and flavor of whole milk.