Did anybody escape from alcatraz?

Nothing was ever proven to show that the 3 prisoners who managed to escape , shown in the Clint Eastwood movie "Alcatraz" actually survived the swim from the island to San Fransisco . They got off the island so that is considered an escape. The answer is Yes, three did in fact escape