What rank is commodore?

Commodore was a command rank in the US Navy from 1862 to 1899. After that it was a rank to which Captains who had served in the Civil War were retired. The rank was reestablished on April 9th 1943 for World War II service, and 147 officers held it as a temporary rank.

---

In naval parlance, Commodore ranks between Captain and Rear Admiral. In current US Navy usage, the term refers to the senior captain of a ship squadron, rather than a distinct rank, having been replaced by Rear Admiral, Lower Half.