What was the battle of new orlin's?

The Battle of New Orleans was fought on January 8, 1815, between the British Army under Major General Sir Edward Pakenham, and the United States Army under Brevet Major General Andrew Jackson, roughly 5 miles southeast of the French Quarter of New Orleans, currently a suburb of Chalmette, Louisiana.