Where do the dahlia onions come from?

The Vidalia Onion, which is a variety of onion with an unusually sweet taste, gets its name from the town Vidalia, Georgia, where they are traditionally grown. The low sulfur soil in the region gives the onion its distinct taste. The Vidalia Onion is the official state vegetable of Georgia.