What present-day country hosted the first space launch facility?

Russia. The first space launch from Baikonur is also the first successful space launch of a satellite Sputnik-1, which left Earth on Oct. 4, 1957. The cosmodrome only officially received the name "Baikonur," however, after cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin went into space on April 12, 1961 a world first.