What's the difference between cage free and free range chickens?

Cage free means the chicken is not kept in a small cage all the time but allowed to walk around with others. It may not be allowed outside, however. Free range indicates that the chicken is allowed outside in pasture or grass to find food on it's own to supplement what it is fed.