What's the difference between mussels and oysters?

Mussels have darker blue or black shells that are more oblong in shape and can have an iridescent sheen to them. Oyster shells have a rougher texture than mussel shells and can be brown, white or gray. Oyster shells are a little more irregular in shape, too.