How does nutmeg grow?

Nutmeg is made from the nut of the Myristica fragrans tree that is native to the Molucca Islands. Today it is also grown in the West Indies, Sri Lanka, Malaysia and Sumatra. The tree that produces this spice can grow up to 60 feet tall and take a full 7 years to bear fruit.