What does a golden finch look like?

Goldfinch adult males in spring and summer are bright yellow with black forehead, black wings with white markings, and white patches above and beneath the tail. Adult females are duller yellow beneath, olive above. Winter birds are drab, brown, with blackish wings and two pale wingbars.