Do we need mosquitoes?

Mosquitoes serve important functions in numerous ecosystems, serving as food for many species, helping filter detritus for plant life to thrive, pollinating flowers, and affecting the herding paths of caribou in the tundra. Scientists are looking at the mosquito for potential medical treatments.