What makes a fruit different than a vegetable?

The fruit vs. vegetable classification goes by which part of the plant it comes from. Fruits come from the flowers of the plant, while vegetables come from other parts of the plant. Another distinction is that fruits contain seeds, and vegetables contain roots, leaves and stems.