What is a mole nitrate?

According to Wikipedia, amyl nitrate is used as an additive in diesel fuel where it acts to improve ignition by accelerating the ignition of fuel. Amyl nitrite is a similarly named chemical used to treat heart diseases and cyanide poisoning. Poppers is a recreational drug based on amyl nitrite.