Where did mount rushmore get it's name?

Charles E. Rushmore was a prospector for gold, and he went there several times in the late 19th century. He joked to his friends that he was going to name the mountain after himself, and, years later, the US Board of Geographic Names decided it would be called Mount Rushmore officially.

---

Mount Rushmore is named after a New York City attorney. Charles E. Rushmore was sent out to this area in 1884 to check legal titles on properties.