Where did mount rushmore get it's name?

Charles E. Rushmore was a prospector for gold, and he went there several times in the late 19th century. He joked to his friends that he was going to name the mountain after himself, and, years later, the US Board of Geographic Names decided it would be called Mount Rushmore officially.