Why is it called a bundt pan?

The style of mold in North America was popularized in the 1950s and 1960s, after cookware manufacturer Nordic Ware trademarked the name Bundt. Then began producing Bundt pans from cast aluminum. The shape is inspired by a traditional Northern European cake known as Gugelhupf.