How does hulk turn green?

In comics canon, it's simply the physical effect of gamma radiation, turning the Hulk's skin, Doc Samson's hair, and She-Hulk's nails green with stored gamma energy. The gamma rays mutate Bruce Banner's DNA and cause him to transform into The Hulk whenever he's angry