What are jigger bugs?

Tunga penetrans, or the jigger bug, is a parasitic insect found in most tropical and sub-tropical climates. Jiggers are often confused with chiggers — a type of mite. Jiggers are native to Central and South America, and have been inadvertently introduced by humans to sub-Saharan Africa.