What is a resident doctor?

A resident is a person who has an MD, they have completed 4 years of school, but they are not qualified to do anything. An MD is just a piece of paper saying you did your time in the lecture hall and lab. Residency is where you learn how to be a doctor. They teach new doctors how to be doctors.

---

A person becomes a medical doctor after completing medical school, but they are not allowed to practice unsupervised medicine. They then must complete one year of internship. After that year, they become residents and must complete at least one year of residency.