How do you marinate steak?

Marinating is soaking meat in a mixture of liquid and flavorings. The liquid usually has acid like vinegar or wine to help tenderize the meat fibers. Ingredients like garlic , salt, pepper, and herbs will penetrate into the meat. It helps to pierce the surface with a fork to allow the liquid in.