What do ticks do to dogs?

Many ticks produce a sticky, gluelike substance that helps them remain attached. After attaching to your dog, ticks begin feeding on the dog's blood. The spots ticks attach can become red and irritated. Although rare, ticks can consume enough of your dog's blood to cause a deficiency called anemia.