What kind of alcohol do you put with eggnog?

While brandy is the most traditional add-in for eggnog, the experts at Bottles recommend a mixture of dark rum and Cognac. If you like your eggnog a little more boozy, you can also add bourbon, though Bottles recommends sticking to rum and Cognac to preserve the nog's flavors