When did simpson start?

The Simpsons began as a series of "bumpers" or animated shorts for on April 19, 1987, and premiered as a full animated series on December 17, 1989, on FOX. The first episode was "Simpsons Roasting on an Open Fire". Regular broadcasts began on Sunday night beginning January 14, 1990.