When did they discontinue the five hundred dollar bill?

The Treasury minted several versions of the $500 bill, featuring a portrait of President William McKinley on the front. The last $500 bill rolled off the presses in 1945, and it was formally discontinued 24 years later in 1969. Like all the bills featured here, the $500 bill remains legal tender.