What is operation ryan?

Operation Ryan was a Cold War military intelligence program run by the Soviet Union during the early 1980s. Then Chairman of the KGB, Yuri Andropov initiated the spy operation to gather intelligence about the possibility of a preemptive nuclear strike by the United States against the Soviet Union .