Can you tell me about homo erectus?

Homo erectus (meaning "upright man") is an extinct species of archaic human from the Pleistocene, about 2 million years ago. Homo erectus was the first human ancestor to spread throughout Eurasia, with a continental range extending from the Iberian Peninsula to Java.