What is an atom bomb?

Atomic bombs are nuclear weapons that use the energetic output of nuclear fission to produce massive explosions.

---

An atomic bomb is a nuclear device that creates an explosion by forcing 2 pieces of fissionable material (usually isotopes of uranium or plutonium) together under extremely high pressure. As the atoms combine, huge amounts of energy are released causing a great explosion