What does a laid mean?

past tense: laid; past participle: laid 1. put down, especially gently or carefully. "she laid t Similar: put place set put down set down deposit rest situate sit settle stow balance station drop leave let fall throw down fling down deploy locate position plant stick dump bung park plonk pop shove