Why do bugs bite?

Scientists do know that pesky bugs such as mosquitoes are attracted to humans mainly because we emit carbon dioxide and heat. Other bugs, such as bedbugs, bite humans solely based on the scent of blood and the warmth of our bodies. The smell of stress also plays a role in bug bites.