What is nitro methane used for?

Nitromethane is used as a fuel in motor racing, particularly drag racing, as well as for radio-controlled models. In this context, nitromethane is commonly referred to as "nitro", and is the principal ingredient for fuel used in the "Top Fuel" category of drag racing