What are the stages of a star?

Seven Main Stages of a Star Giant Gas Cloud. A star originates from a large cloud of gas. Protostar. When the gas particles in the molecular cloud run into each other, heat energy is produced. T-Tauri Phase. Main Sequence. Red Giant. The Fusion of Heavier Elements. Supernovae and Planetary Nebulae.