What are the dow jones industrial average futures?

Dow Futures are futures contracts that are based on the DJIA which is an index of 30 blue chip stocks traded on the New York Stock Exchange. This type of futures contract is a standardized but high risk agreement to buy or sell a specific number of shares at a fixed price on a agreed future date