Do you put water in slime?

Water is an important ingredient in slime. Water helps the polymer molecules slide past each other so that your slime can flow. If you let the water evaporate, your slime will end up like a solid piece of plastic. ... Add two tablespoons of water to 1 tablespoon of glue to make the glue solution.