What kind of dog is clifford the big red dog?

According to Norman Bridwell, Clifford's creator, Clifford is based on a large bloodhound. Bridwell has said he took his inspiration from the behavior of all types of dogs. These days, many of his characteristics are of a giant Vizsla

---

Clifford is a bit of a mixed breed. He was initially based on hound and viszla breeds.