What are koalas related to?

Koalas sometimes are referred to incorrectly as “koala bears.” Koalas are not bears. They belong to a group of pouched mammals, called “marsupials,”. Its closest living relative is the wombat, but other koala relatives include kangaroos, wallabies and opossums.