What is the caroline by neil diamond?

"Sweet Caroline" is a song written and performed by Neil Diamond, an American singer-songwriter. It was released in May of 1969 and reached the number 4 spot on the Billboard 100. When asked, Diamond said that "Caroline" was inspired by John F Kennedy's daughter, Caroline.