What is another name for volcanic rock?

Three basic types of Volcanic Rock Basalt contains a lot of iron but not much silica. Andesite is lighter coloured than basalt because it contains less iron and more silica Rhyolite is light-coloured or white – this is a clue that the rock contains a lot of silica and not much iron or magnesium.

---

. Pumice is another name for volcanic rock. It is produced when lava with a very high content of water and gas is discharged from a volcano.