Why do people have armpit hair?

"Underarm hair has a few functions," explains Marta Camkiran, esthetician at Haven Spa. "It reduces friction between the upper and lower arm during vigorous labor or motion, covers exposed parts of the body with vital arteries, and facilitates the release of sex pheromones."