How long does it take to cook a boiled egg?

Soft is about 2 minutes. Hard-cooked is about 6. And they are not boiled. Put the eggs in cold water, heat slowly, and before it starts to boil, turn off the heat and let them sit for a few minutes. If they boil they will have that ugly green color around the edge.