What is a covalent bond?

A covalent bond, or molecular bond, is a chemical bond that shares electron pairs between atoms. These electron pairs are known as shared pairs or bonding pairs, and the stable balance of attractive and repulsive forces between atoms, when they share electrons, is known as covalent bonding.

---

Covalent bond, in chemistry, the interatomic linkage that results from the sharing of an electron pair between two atoms.