What happened to val kilmer's wife?

While he was in several public relationships, Kilmer has only walked down the aisle once. He married actress Joanne Whalley in 1988. After welcoming daughter Mercedes in 1991 and son Jack in 1995, they called it quits, finalizing their divorce in 1996.