What does it mean when a plant is in retrograde?

A planet in retrograde is just a planet moving in its orbit and seems to be moving backwards in the sky from our perspective here on Earth. In ancient astrology, when a planet changes direction or shifts in speed what it rules will see challenges or confusion in our lives during that time.