How do you throw out batteries?

Alkaline batteries can be safely disposed of with normal household waste, but rechargeable batteries and button batteries should be taken to a recycling facility, and car batteries should be taken to an auto parts retailer or hazardous waste collection site.

---

You don't - you take them to a recycler.